Proton Mail(new window) makes it possible to delete your Proton Account entirely. Once your account is deleted, there is no way to recover it. We do not recycle usernames, which means the same username will not be available in the future.
Instead of deleting an account, you can also merge it with another Proton Account.
Please note that you cannot delete your account with the intention of switching to a different domain (like @proton.me or @protonmail.com). Once an account is created, the domain cannot be changed. You can have multiple domains if you upgrade to a paid plan.
To delete your account:
1. Log in to your account at account.proton.me and go to Settings → All settings → Account → Account and password → Delete account and click the Delete your account button.
2. Please provide a reason why you’re leaving us and confirm your Proton Mail username and password as a security precaution. If you have two-factor authetication(new window) enabled on your account, you will also need to enter a 2FA code.
Confirm that you want your account to be permanently deleted by clicking Delete. Keep in mind that you will lose access to all Proton apps, including Proton VPN(new window), Proton Drive(new window), and Proton Calendar.