How to use Undo Send

Reading
3 mins
Category
Compose and send emails

If you want to recall an email after you click Send, you can use the Undo Send feature on the Proton Mail(new window) web app and the Proton Mail app for iPhone and iPad.

Undo Send is enabled by default and automatically delays sending your email after you click Send using a 10-second timer. During this time, you can click Undo to return the message to your Drafts folder so you can edit or delete it.

You can disable Undo Send or change the length of the timer. Any changes you make to these settings are synced across your devices.

Undo Send on the Proton Mail web app

To disable Undo Send or change the length of the timer:

1. Log in to your Proton Mail account at mail.proton.me(new window) and click Settings → Go to settings → Messages and composing → Composing → Undo send.

Undo Send button in Proton Mail Settings

2. Select your preferred timer length in the Undo send dropdown menu — between 0 and 20 seconds. Setting the timer to 0 seconds disables the feature.

Dropdown menu to choose the duration for Undo Send

With Undo Send enabled, once you’ve finished writing your email and hit the Send button, the Proton Mail composer window closes and a banner shows up at the top of your screen saying: Message sent. Undo.

Message sent notification and link to Undo button

This banner is displayed for the set number of seconds (10 seconds by default). If you want to retrieve your message during this time, click Undo. Your message will reopen in the composer window so you can edit or delete it.

Undo Send on the Proton Mail app for iPhone and iPad

To disable Undo Send or change the length of the timer:

1. Open the Proton Mail app and go to Settings → [your account name] → Account Settings Undo send.

iPhone account settings with Undo send option

2. Select your preferred timer length — between 0 and 20 seconds. Setting the timer to 0 seconds disables the feature.

Menu to set timer duration for Undo send on iPhone

With Undo Send enabled, when you hit the Send button, a banner saying Message sent Undo appears at the bottom of your screen for the set number of seconds (10 seconds by default).

Undo send button on iPhone

To retrieve your message during this time, click Undo. Your message is then returned to the Drafts folder, where you can edit or delete it.

Didn’t find what you were looking for?

Contact support
General contactcontact@proton.me
Media contactmedia@proton.me
Legal contactlegal@proton.me
Partnerships contactpartners@proton.me